We love what the New York Times had to say about Southport, in a recent article. They referred to the Village of Southport, Connecticut as "An Enclave for One’s Inner Scarlett".
In fact, many of the upscale homes resemble Southern plantations. According to local historian V. Louise Higgins, Southport traded with Savannah, Georgia and Charleston, South Carolina in the 19th century, and Southern relatives could have had a lot to do with the stunning examples of Greek Revival, Federal and Victorian styles, which are also indicative of the South during that time period. Interestingly enough, neither Southport and Fairfield have any Civil War monuments.
Most of the Queen Anne, Italianate, and Stick homes were built during Southport's maritime heyday. With a land area of less than three square miles, there are approximately 1,000 households in the Village, which was officially named the Borough of Southport in 1831. It was disbanded as a borough by 1854. Southport remains rich in agricultural and american history, as some of southwestern Connecticut's first families had homesteads here.
Southport has its own railroad station and zip code (06890). Southport is bordered within the town of Fairfield, which was settled in 1639. The downtown area is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and boasts an area where buildings from three centuries are protected with strict historic regulations. The historic district boundaries are the railroad on the north; the Mill River and Southport Harbor on the south; Church Street; Old South Road on the west, and Rose Hill Road on the east.
RECREATION & THE ARTS:
The Pequot Library opened in 1894 and is well known throughout New England for its old and rare book collections, its Audubon elephant folios, its near perfect auditorium, and its antique book sale which features upwards of 120,000 volumes on sale every summer. The library is quite a landmark, and an outstanding example of Romanesque architecture. Built in 1887, this beautiful pink granite building has a Tiffany window and was designed by H.H. Richardson. (The Library is also on the National Register in the Southport Historic District)
The Country Club of Fairfield on Sasco Hill Road. (Members Only) Founded in 1914, the country club includes an 18-hole- par 70 golf course. Officially opened in 1921, it consists of 143 bucolic acres on Sasco Hill Road reminiscent of an Irish countryside, and borne of of onion fields. The course rating is 71.6, has a slope rating of 133, and features 6,358 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 70. Other amenities include a club house and private beach, swimming pool, tennis courts.
Sasco Beach - for residents only, this 9.9 acre beach is nicely tucked away and has free access. Sasco Beach is located ust to the south of Southport Harbor and the Country Club of Fairfield on Long Island Sound. Southport Beach is approximately 2. 5 acres in size- a small beach that includes bathroom facilities and a concession stand.
Pequot Yacht Club on 669 Harbor Road - open only to its 250 members. (There is a municipal boatyard) and anyone can picnic on Perry's Green, or fish for bluefish. Wakeman Boys & Girls Club; Southport Racquet Club
A LITTLE HISTORY: The Pequot War: "The Great Swamp Fight" occurred here in 1637 and it is understood that it was quite a violent scene. The Pequot Indians fled to Southport to take refuge with about 200 Sasqua Indians who lived here after their village in Mystic was set on fire by the English, led by Captain John Mason and Roger Ludlow. In the massacre, hundreds of women, children and older men perished by the English setting their village ablaze. Nearly three hundred Pequot and Sasqua Indians perished in the battle in Southport that followed.
Search Southport Homes for Sale
Today's Market Trends for Southport *
* All data pertains to single-family homes